Five Steps to Finding the Job you Love


Help WantedIf you believe what you hear and read in the news, you have plenty of reasons to be depressed about being unemployed, underemployed or working at a place you hate just so you can pay your bills. But…if you want to know the secret of finding a GREAT job in a tough economy, keep reading!

The economy may be tough, opportunities may be hard to find, competition may be fierce; but there’s a perfect job out there, waiting for you to come and find it. I truly believe you have all you need to succeed; if you want to take the time to find the strength within you.

Here is my story.  I had been a telecommuter for two and a half years and I received notice that my position was going to be terminated.  I found myself in a new town, with  two very young kids who demanded my constant attention and no network to tap into.  Going out hand-delivering resumes was not an option. I applied and interviewed for many different positions.  I did everything the experts recommend, finding direct contacts in the organizations I had identified as potential employers. I got very close to the hiring managers more than once… and still someone else got the job.  I felt discouraged many times, especially when I got turned down for positions I really wanted and for which I felt qualified.

Eight months ago, I landed a contract position as a Training Consultant.  It was definitely not my first choice.  I had a 40 mile commute downtown and it was only for three months.  I did well in the initial interview and I liked what the organization had to offer and decided to give it a try.  In a few days, I will become a permanent employee for the organization. It has been a great experience! I got to ‘test drive’ the organization and that positioned me to meet the right people and to be in the right place at the time they had an opening. I am really looking forward to my new role and I have heard wonderful things about my team. They have already come to welcome me and I know I’m going to love it.

Whatever your situation it, here are some tips that may be helpful in finding the job you love:

  1. Define your dream: Identify what your desired job looks like and write it down. It may be different from what you have done in the past. Identify the patterns you see and the responsibilities you really enjoy and are good at, such as working as part of a team, contacting clients, programming, designing and so on.
  2. Find a unique way to showcase your skills: Online portfolio,blog, video blog, Pinterest board… And work daily at improving those skills.
  3. Learn from the pros: There is SO much out there that will make you a better person and a better team member and leader.  Free content is EVERYWHERE. Listen to podcasts (such as EntreLeadership, Michael Hyatt’s This is Your Life and Andy Andrews’ In the Loop) and read everything you can get your hands on related to your desired field.
  4. Connect with people: Build an online presence  to connect to your colleagues and the experts in your field. Interact on Twitter, Linked in or Facebook
  5. Consider other avenues: Internships, temp jobs and contracts can help you get your foot in the door.

Wherever you are and whatever it is you are doing now, put your best foot forward and make a great contribution. I know that unemployment, bad employment or underemployment feels like a never-ending situation. Keep your spirits up, nurture your body, mind and soul and get excited. The best is yet to come!

Please Like, Share or Tweet!

7 responses to “Five Steps to Finding the Job you Love

  1. I’ll fill in for Chris… PREACH IT GIRL!
    what an awesome post Lily! Thank you. It is the encouragement I need! It’s so easy to get down and frustrated in a crappy job, believe me. But I hate feeling that way, and it’s not beneficial in finding more meaningful work!

    • The right job/business opportunity is out there for you. You can easily outperform your competition by demonstrating passion and going the extra mile. Thanks for reading!!

  2. Very good advice! I’m currently working through this proccess. I know something good is coming, I’m just trying to work and wait.

  3. So true. I really like your ideas about ongoing personal development, and setting up online presence to connect with prospective employers.

    And I think one other thing that is vital: always be tweaking and designing your resume for the company and position you are aiming for. Never factory out your resume (same one for all.) As someone who hires, there’s nothing I’ll ignore faster than a resume that looks like you have no idea what I’m hiring for.

    Resumes should be written from the potential employee’s perspective. It should show that you know what they need, and how you’re the perfect candidate to fill that need. My humble opinion.

    • It is so true. As a candidate, if you don’t take the time to do your homework and use the employer’s language in your resume, cover letter and interview, they will know that you’re not that interested or passionate about what they do and you just want the j-o-b.

Comments are closed.